Who Won The Caribbean Series: MEXICO! • Latino Sports

Caribbean Baseball

Who Won The Caribbean Series: MEXICO!


It was just like in boxing where these two countries have a strong rivalry. Puerto Rico and Mexico facing off for the undisputed champions of the 2013/14 Caribbean Baseball Series. Both countries held each other at bay on solid pitching and defense for five innings, but then with the switch of Puerto Rico’s starter, Joel Piñeiro the roof caved in for Puerto Rico.

The Naranjeros de Hermosillo defeated Puerto Rico’s Indios de Mayaguez, 7-1 and Chris Roberson an American who has made Mexico his second home after being overlooked by teams in the states was the main reason.  Roberson, 34,  was named the MVP of the series with a .370 BA with two home runs and six RBIs.

Carlos Baerga and his Indios de Mayagüez did a great job to make it to the finals and come in second place.

About Julio Pabón

Julio is President and Founder of Latino Sports LLC., the parent company of Latinosports.com. Julio is a product of the South Bronx where he still lives and runs his businesses. Julio has written and has been interviewed for numerous publication and networks on sports & political issues. He has been an activist promoting social justice and respect for all communities. He is a recognized motivational speaker, was an adjunct professor of American History and presently volunteer's as a lecturer in local South Bronx High Schools. His primary goal is to make Latinosports.com a multi-facet sports portal that will engender social and economic empowerment to the Latino community.