Connect with us



Randy Arozarena had a great season for Tampa and worthy of Rookie of the Year (Photo courtesy of © Kyodo News)


Here are the voting results of the 2021 American League Jackie Robinson Rookie of the Year Award. Ballots from two writers in each league city prior to postseason play are tabulated on a system that rewards five points for first place, three points for second place and one point for third place.

AL Jackie Robinson Award 1st 2nd 3rd Points
Randy Arozarena, Rays 22 4 2 124
Luis Garcia, Astros 2 15 8 63
Wander Franco, Rays 2 5 5 30
Adolis Garcia, Rangers 3 1 9 27
Emmanuel Clase, Indians 1 2   11
Ryan Mountcastle, Orioles   2 4 10
Shane McClanahan, Rays   1   3
Alek Manoah, Blue Jays     2 2

            Randy Arozarena played in 25 postseason games the previous two seasons but maintained his rookie status in 2021. The previous Rookie of the Year winner with the most postseason games prior to his official rookie season was St. Louis Cardinals pitcher Todd Worrell, who had seven relief appearances totaling 11 innings in 1985 and won the National League Rookie of the Year Award in 1986.

            This marks the fourth time a Rays player has been honored. The others were Wil Myers in 2013, Jeremy Hellickson in 2011 and Evan Longoria in 2008. Arozarena is the sixth left fielder to win the award, joining Marty Cordova (1995), Jose Canseco (1986), Joe Charboneau (1980), Al Bumbry (1973) and Lou Piniella (1969). Left fielders have won the NL award eight times.

            Five different players received first-place votes, the most since a similar number occurred in 2011, the year of Hellickson’s election. The record for the most first-place vote-getters in AL Rookie of the Year voting is six, which happened four times, in 1949, 1961, 1973 and 1979. In NL voting, there were eight first-place vote-getters in 1973 and seven in 1953.

            No player was named on every ballot.

Previous winners (*-Unanimous):

2020 *Kyle Lewis, Mariners; 2019 *Yordan Alvarez, Astros; 2018 Shohei Ohtani, Angels; 2017 *Aaron Judge, Yankees; 2016 Michael Fullmer, Tigers; 2015 Carlos Correa, Astros; 2014 *Jose Abreu, White Sox; 2013 Wil Myers, Rays; 2012 *Mike Trout, Angels; 2011 Jeremy Hellickson, Rays; 2010 Neftali Feliz, Rangers; 2009 Andrew Bailey, Athletics; 2008 *Evan Longoria, Rays; 2007 Dustin Pedroia, Red Sox; 2006 Justin Verlander, Tigers; 2005 Huston Street, Athletics; 2004 Bobby Crosby, Athletics; 2003 Angel Berroa, Royals; 2002 Eric Hinske, Blue Jays; 2001 Ichiro Suzuki, Mariners; 2000 Kazuhiro Sasaki, Mariners; 1999 Carlos Beltran, Royals; 1998 Ben Grieve, Athletics; 1997 *Nomar Garciaparra, Red Sox; 1996 *Derek Jeter, Yankees; 1995 Marty Cordova, Twins; 1994 Bob Hamelin, Royals; 1993 *Tim Salmon, Angels; 1992 Pat Listach, Brewers; 1991 Chuck Knoblauch, Twins; 1990 *Sandy Alomar, Jr., Indians; 1989 Gregg Olson, Orioles; 1988 Walt Weiss, Athletics; 1987 *Mark McGwire, Athletics; 1986 Jose Canseco, Athletics; 1985 Ozzie Guillen, White Sox; 1984 Alvin Davis, Mariners; 1983 Ron Kittle, White Sox; 1982 Cal Ripken Jr., Orioles; 1981 Dave Righetti, Yankees; 1980 Joe Charboneau, Indians; 1979 (Tie) John Castino, Twins, and Alfredo Griffin, Blue Jays; 1978 Lou Whitaker, Tigers; 1977 Eddie Murray, Orioles; 1976 Mark Fidrych, Tigers; 1975 Fred Lynn, Red Sox; 1974 Mike Hargrove, Rangers; 1973 Al Bumbry, Orioles; 1972 *Carlton Fisk, Red Sox; 1971 Chris Chambliss, Indians; 1970 Thurman Munson, Yankees; 1969 Lou Piniella, Royals; 1968 Stan Bahnsen, Yankees; 1967 Rod Carew, Twins; 1966 Tommie Agee, White Sox; 1965 Curt Blefary, Orioles; 1964 Tony Oliva, Twins; 1963 Gary Peters, White Sox; 1962 Tom Tresh, Yankees; 1961 Don Schwall, Red Sox; 1960 Ron Hansen, Orioles; 1959 Bob Allison, Senators; 1958 Albie Pearson, Senators; 1957 Tony Kubek, Yankees; 1956 Luis Aparicio, White Sox; 1955 Herb Score, Indians; 1954 Bob Grim, Yankees; 1953 Harvey Kuenn, Tigers; 1952 Harry Byrd, Athletics; 1951 Gil McDougald, Yankees; 1950 Walt Dropo, Red Sox; 1949 Roy Sievers, Browns.


Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


Latest Article

More in Baseball