Connect with us



Jonathan is the hands down NL Rookie of the Year. Congrats! (Photo Jonathan_India Instagram)

JONATHAN INDIA, Cincinnati Reds

Here are the voting results of the 2021 National League Jackie Robinson Rookie of the Year Award. Ballots from two writers in each league city prior to postseason play are tabulated on a system that rewards five points for first place, three points for second place and one point for third place.

NL Jackie Robinson Award 1st 2nd 3rd Points
Jonathan India, Reds 29 1   148
Trevor Rogers, Marlins 1 26 3 86
Dylan Carlson, Cardinals   3 13 22
Patrick Wisdom, Cubs     5 5
Ian Anderson, Braves     3 3
Tyler Stephenson, Reds     2 2
Frank Schwindel, Cubs     2 2
David Bednar, Pirates     1 1
Vladimir Gutierrez, Reds     1 1

Jonathan India and runner-up Trevor Rogers were the only players named on every ballot.

This is the eighth time a Reds player has been honored. The others were Scott Williamson (1999), Chris Sabo (1988), Pat Zachry (1976), Johnny Bench (1968), Tommy Helms (1966), Pete Rose (1963) and Frank Robinson (1956).

India is the seventh second baseman to win the National League award, joining Rose, Steve Sax (1982), Ted Sizemore (1969), Jim Lefebvre (1965), Ken Hubbs (1962) and Junior Gilliam (1953). Jackie Robinson, for whom the award has been named since 1987, was a first baseman when he won the first award, in 1947. He moved to second base the next season. There have been four American League winners who played second base.

Previous winners:

2020 Devin Williams, Brewers; 2019 Pete Alonso, Mets; 2018 Ronald Acuna, Jr., Braves; 2017 *Cody Bellinger, Dodgers; 2016 *Corey Seager, Dodgers; 2015 *Kris Bryant, Cubs; 2014 Jacob deGrom, Mets; 2013 Jose Fernandez, Marlins; 2012 Bryce Harper, Nationals; 2011 *Craig Kimbrel, Braves; 2010 Buster Posey, Giants; 2009 Chris Coghlan, Marlins; 2008 Geovanny Soto, Cubs; 2007 Ryan Braun, Brewers; 2006 Hanley Ramirez, Marlins; 2005 Ryan Howard, Phillies; 2004 Jason Bay, Pirates; 2003 Dontrelle Willis, Marlins; 2002 Jason Jennings, Rockies; 2001 *Albert Pujols, Cardinals; 2000 Rafael Furcal, Braves; 1999 Scott Williamson, Reds; 1998 Kerry Wood, Cubs; 1997 *Scott Rolen, Phillies; 1996 Todd Hollandsworth, Dodgers; 1995 Hideo Nomo, Dodgers; 1994 *Raul Mondesi, Dodgers; 1993 *Mike Piazza, Dodgers; 1992 Eric Karros, Dodgers; 1991 Jeff Bagwell, Astros; 1990 David Justice, Braves; 1989 Jerome Walton, Cubs; 1988 Chris Sabo, Reds; 1987 *Benito Santiago, Padres; 1986 Todd Worrell, Cardinals; 1985 *Vince Coleman, Cardinals; 1984 Dwight Gooden, Mets; 1983 Darryl Strawberry, Mets; 1982 Steve Sax, Dodgers; 1981 Fernando Valenzuela, Dodgers; 1980 Steve Howe, Dodgers; 1979 Rick Sutcliffe, Dodgers; 1978 Bob Horner, Braves; 1977 Andre Dawson, Expos; 1976 (Tie) Butch Metzger, Padres, and Pat Zachry, Reds; 1975 John Montefusco, Giants; 1974 Bake McBride, Cardinals; 1973 Gary Matthews, Giants; 1972 Jon Matlack, Mets; 1971 Earl Williams, Braves; 1970 Carl Morton, Expos; 1969 Ted Sizemore, Dodgers; 1968 Johnny Bench, Reds; 1967 Tom Seaver, Mets; 1966 Tommy Helms, Reds; 1965 Jim Lefebvre, Dodgers; 1964 Dick Allen, Phillies; 1963 Pete Rose, Reds; 1962 Ken Hubbs, Cubs; 1961 Billy Williams, Cubs; 1960 Frank Howard, Dodgers; 1959 *Willie McCovey, Giants; 1958 *Orlando Cepeda, Giants; 1957 Jack Sanford, Phillies; 1956 *Frank Robinson, Reds; 1955 Bill Virdon, Cardinals; 1954 Wally Moon, Cardinals; 1953 Junior Gilliam, Dodgers; 1952 Joe Black, Dodgers; 1951 Willie Mays, Giants; 1950 Sam Jethroe, Braves; 1949 Don Newcombe, Dodgers; 1948 Alvin Dark, Braves; 1947 Jackie Robinson, Dodgers.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


Latest Article

More in Baseball