Connect with us


Indios de Mayagüez tie series Vs. Criollos de Caguas in LBPRC Final Series

Article translated & edited to English from


Mayagüez, PR: Danny Ortiz’s home run ensured the victory for Mayagüez in the second game against the Criollos de Caguas.

Caguas. A home run with two on base from Danny Ortiz secured the victory of the Indios de Mayagüez over the Criollos de Caguas in the second game of the COPA Humana championship with a score of 6-4.
This result ties the Final Series of the winter tournament at one game apiece and records the second victory in the last four championship series balls for the Indios in fifteen starts.

Caguas produced its first run in the first inning. An opening ball to Johneswhy Fargas and a wild pitch by starter Miguel Martínez gave way for the runner to advance to third base, being scored in by Jonathan Morales.

The Indians tied the game in the top of the third. Gold glove double by Roberto ‘Bebo’ Pérez and single by Chavez Young gave the first run for the visitors.

In the fifth inning, with two outs, hits in a row for Emmanuel Rivera and Jim Haley, they led the tribe for the first time in the final phase, 3-1, without looking back.

Hit from four corners for Danny Ortiz with Brett Rodríguez and TJ Rivera in transit extended the advantage of the Westerners, 6-1, in the seventh inning of luck.

In the face of relief pitches from reliever Robby Rowland, infielder Edwin Díaz repeated the same dose in favor of the locals, disappearing the ball over the left field wall with Engel Beltré and David Vidal on base to bring the Criollos closer, six runs to four in the eighth.

Veteran Miguel Martinez (1-0) earned the win pitching five complete innings allowing one single, one earned run and four strikeouts. The save went to Braden Webb with no walks in 1 1/3 innings. The defeat went to, Oscar De La Cruz (0-1) giving way to three runs, one of them clean, and five undisputed in five innings.

The third game of the Final Series between Criollos and Indios will take place this Monday, January 17 at 7:10 p.m. at the Isidoro ‘Cholo’ García stadium with broadcast on WAPA Deportes and FOX

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.



Latest Article

More in Baseball